**<u>OUTLINE</u>**: the book of the Revelation is divided into seven parallel parts or repeating pictures...

1<sup>st</sup> – Seven Churches – 1:1-3:22

2<sup>nd</sup> - Seven Seals of Trouble - 4:1-7:17

3<sup>rd</sup> - Seven Trumpets of Warning - 8:2-11:19

4<sup>th</sup> - Seven Signs and Symbols of Persecution and Promise - 12:1-14:20

5<sup>th</sup> - Seven Bowls of God's Wrath - 15:1-16:21

6<sup>th</sup> - Rise and Fall of our Adversaries - 17:1-19:21

7<sup>th</sup> – The Final Consummation – 20:1-22:21

## 1<sup>st</sup> – THE SEVEN CHURCHES (1:1-3:22) –

- > All Seven Churches are identified as LAMPSTANDS (1:20)
- > All Seven Churches are INTIMATELY KNOWN
- > All Seven Churches receive both COMMENDATION and REBUKE
- > All Seven Churches are EXHORTED TO HEAR (see; Matthew 13:3-16)

## All Seven Churches receive SPECIAL PROMISES

EXAMPLE: 2:7> 'tree of life'> 22:2,14... 2:11> 'second death'> 20:6,14... 2:17; 3:12> 'a new name'>14:1... 22:3-4.

**#1 – The Lesson of the One Who Walks in the Midst of the Church –** 2:2... 2:9... 2:13... 2:19... 3:1... 3:8... 3:15...

**#2 – The Lesson of Overcoming** – John 16:33... Romans 8:36-37... 1 John 5:4-5

**#3 – The Lesson of the Second Coming** – 1:7-8... 2:25... 3:11 ... 2:13... Hebrews 10:21-25... 2 Thessalonians 1:3-12 ...